Users signing up for any of Google’s services will now no longer be forced to sign-up for a Google+ account, new report claim.
According to a Marketing land report, users, while signing up for a Gmail, Google Docs, Youtube or other any Google account, will now have the option to skip creating a Google+ account by selecting the new “No thanks” button.
Previously, users who signed up for any of Google’s services had no choice but to sign up with the social network in order to use the services. The move was aimed at increasing Google’s social network’s user base by forcing people to join it.
Last week, the search engine giant had stopped forcing users of its popular messaging service, Hangout, to sign-up for a Google+ account in order to use the service. However, now it seems like the automatic Google+ sign-up feature has been removed across all Google services, sparking rumors of Google’s flagship social network’s demise.
Google had also earlier stopped forcing its Google+ users to use their real names in July and had exchanged the ‘Sign In with Google+’ button in favor of a more straightforward “Sign In The Google” button in April.
The latest move comes after Google senior vice president for social and Google+ co-creator, Vivek Gundotra, stepped down from his position in April this year.