Google today announced that it is adding an interesting update to Google+ in order to boost the social network’s popularity. As part of the update, the new ‘total content views’ feature will show the total number of times the user’s content and profile page has been seen by others.
The figure will be displayed underneath the user’s profile photo, just next to where their follower count is displayed. The count is the sum of the user’s profile, post and photo views since October 2012.
“See how many times your Google+ profile & content have been viewed by other people, read the post. “When you look at your profile, you can see your total number of views. That means you can tell how many times your content has been seen by other people, including your photos, posts, and profile page.”
“Ever wonder how many times your shared Google+ content has been seen? Starting today you’ll see a new number on your Google+ profile or page: total content views,” a Google+ post by Eddie Kessler read.
“This number is the sum of your profile, post and photo views since October 2012, and you can choose to show or hide it via settings. Just visit plus.google.com/settings, scroll down to “Profile,” and make your selection.”
Users who are not interested in revealing their profile, post or image view counts to the world, can disable the feature. Uncheck the box to the left of “Show how many times your profile and content have been viewed,” under the settings menu. User can also re-enable total content view counts whenever needed by checking the box.
Google also noted that users can’t currently make changes to the view count settings through the Google+ apps for Android or iOS, but can expect the functionality to land in a future update soon.