fbpx

#Science

April 4 lunar eclipse: List of countries where it will be visible

By  | 

Year 2015 has proved to be a great year so far for sky gazers and continues to bring with it awe-inspiring celestial events one after the other. The next event to happen is on April 4, which will be a lunar eclipse visible across part of North America, East Asia and Australia.

The lunar eclipse will be visible across India and if weather conditions permit, it will be one worth a watch, experts reveal. For the uninitiated, a lunar eclipse occurs when the earth comes in between the sun and the moon, casting a shadow on the moon. The Moon will be totally eclipsed (totality) for about 5 minutes. From beginning to end, it will last for 3 hours and 29 mins.

According to NASA, in India the eclipse will being at 15.47 hours [IST] and the full eclipse would begin at about 17.30 hours [IST]. The moon would rise in the East at 18.32 hours [IST], just as the sun would set in the West. When it rises, it would be seen as a partially eclipsed moon. The partial phase would continue till 19.15 hours [IST], when the eclipse would have ended.

Lunar Eclipse Path

Cities where at least part of the total eclipse is visible are listed below along with begin, maximum and end times [local time]:

City Begin Maximum End
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 19:01 22:00 00:59 [April 5]
Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A. 03:01 06:00 08:59
Yangon, Myanmar 15:31 18:30 21:29
Mexico City, Federal District, Mexico 03:01 06:00 08:59
San Francisco, California, U.S.A. 02:01 05:00 07:59
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia 20:01 23:00 01:59 [April 5]
Honolulu, Hawaii, U.S.A. 23:01 [April 3] 02:00 04:59
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 20:01 23:00 01:59 [April 5]
Seoul, South Korea 18:01 21:00 23:59
Taipei, Taiwan 17:01 20:00 22:59
Singapore, Singapore 17:01 20:00 22:59
Bangkok, Thailand 16:01 19:00 21:59
Shanghai, Shanghai Municipality, China 17:01 20:00 22:59
Beijing, Beijing Municipality, China 17:01 20:00 22:59
Hong Kong, Hong Kong 17:01 20:00 22:59
Los Angeles, California, U.S.A. 02:01 05:00 07:59
Hanoi, Vietnam 16:01 19:00 21:59
Tokyo, Japan 18:01 21:00 23:59
Jakarta, Jakarta Special Capital Region, Indonesia 16:01 19:00 21:59
Manila, Philippines 17:01 20:00 22:59

Cities where partial eclipse is visible are listed below along with begin, maximum and end times [local time]:

City Begin Maximum End
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil 06:01 06:08 11:59
Buenos Aires, Argentina 06:01 07:02 11:59
Caracas, Venezuela 04:31 05:49 10:29
Montreal, Quebec, Canada 05:01 06:28 10:59
New York, New York, U.S.A. 05:01 06:31 10:59
Washington DC, District of Columbia, U.S.A. 05:01 06:45 10:59
Santiago, Chile 06:01 07:52 11:59
Toronto, Ontario, Canada 05:01 06:53 10:59
Miami, Florida, U.S.A. 05:01 07:07 10:59
Detroit, Michigan, U.S.A. 05:01 07:09 10:59
Lima, Lima, Peru 04:01 06:09 09:59
Havana, Cuba 05:01 07:18 10:59
Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A. 04:01 06:22 09:59
Guatemala, Guatemala 03:01 05:55 08:59
Dhaka, Bangladesh 15:01 18:14 20:59
Kolkata, West Bengal, India 14:31 17:53 20:29
New Delhi, Delhi, India 14:31 18:41 20:29
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India 14:31 18:59 20:29
Tashkent, Uzbekistan 14:01 18:53 19:59

Lets us know in the comments section if you want to know about any other city and we will add that information as well!