#General Tech

Vodafone expands 4G roaming service to 17 new countries

By  | 

Vodafone on Thursday announced it has expanded its 4G roaming service to 17 new countries, taking up the total tally up to 40.

Antigua & Barbuda, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Israel, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, Sri Lanka and Thailand are among the 17 countries to have joined the existing 23 destinations announced earlier this year including Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan and USA. Fiji and Kuwait are expected to be included in time for 25 December.

Vodafone pay-monthly customers can enjoy 4G roaming in European destinations for an additional £3 a day, while those travelling outside Europe can enjoy 4G for £5 a day. Paying the additional money will let customers take their current UK data, text and call allowances with them as they travel, Vodafone confirmed.

Furthermore, customers will not be charged for receiving calls or texts on both services and will only need to pay for the days they use their mobile abroad.

“Around four million people head overseas during the festive period so today’s news is perfect for those wanting to upload photos or videos of their celebrations to their social media sites or check maps online whilst on the move,” says Cindy Rose, Vodafone UK’s head of consumer.

In July, Vodafone announced it has around one million 4G customers in the UK.