Facebook ‘Privacy Checkup’ tool puts you in command
Facebook has made its ‘Privacy Checkup’ feature, which was announced in May, available to all its users enabling them to review all the stuff they share on the social network manually as well as automatically through apps.
Seeking the colossal user-base to go through with a comprehensive questionnaire pertaining to privacy concerns, Facebook is promoting this short online exercise by strategizing pop-ups on the news-feed of users.
Urging them to analyse their Privacy Settings, the Privacy Checkup feature introduced by Facebook includes a review of who can see a particular user’s posts and tags by categorizing the audiences under the heads of ‘Everyone’, ‘Friends of Friends’, ‘Friends’, ‘Only Me’ and ‘Custom’.
The last category, clearly, allows the Facebook-users to customize their settings so that only a select few from their friend-lists can access their posts.
Furthermore, the Privacy Checkup also lets users review what they do with third-party applications like Candy Crush Saga, et cetera, that are linked to their respective accounts. Facebook is also allowing its users to assess what they are sharing in their short bio-summary.
Facebook Product Manager, Paddy Underwood, commented on the development through a blog post saying, “We know you come to Facebook to connect with friends, not with us. But we also know how important it is to be in control of what you share and who you share with.” Facebook had also amended the default post sharing setting from ‘Public’ to ‘Friends’ earlier this year.
With 30 percent of Facebook’s active users logging in to the social network through their smartphones and tablets, Facebook is stated to launch a mobile version of the Privacy Checkup soon. As present, the Privacy Checkup notification will be visible only to those accessing the site on a desktop.