Twitter rolls out ‘Mute’ feature
Twitter on Monday launched a new mute feature that allows users to stop tweets and retweets from users they don’t want to see on their Twitter Feed.
The announcement was made in a blog post that read, “Muting a user on Twitter means their tweets and retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline.” Twitter has already started rolling out the new feature and all users will get it in the coming weeks.
Muting a follower will also stop push notifications when they tweet and will also stop SMS notifications to the user about the follower’s activities on Twitter. However, the follower will not be notified of the mute and will continue to see the user’s tweets and retweets on their Twitter feed.
“The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time,” Paul Rosania,
Product Manager at Twitter said. “In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you’d like to hear from less.”
The new tool functions just like the change Twitter made to its blocking feature and reverted within a day. Back in December, the micro-blogging service made a tweak to its blocking feature which let blocked users see the blocker’s tweets and retweets. But, it was reverted as several users voiced their dislike towards the change.
The mute feature reflects the way Twitter wanted to have its blocking feature. However, the blocking feature remains unaffected and would continue to work like it has until now.